Eight Teachers Selected For Future Shift Fellowship

Eight teachers from Bardstown City Schools were chosen to participate in the district’s first-ever Future Shift Fellowship. The 2022-23 cohort of the Future Shift Fellows are:

  • Marci Ballard, Bardstown Primary
  • Paula Maria Gagne, Bardstown Elementary 
  • Melissa Kyser, Bardstown Elementary
  • Betty Mizutani, Bardstown Elementary
  • Jennifer Burks, Bardstown Middle
  • Walt Eveland, Bardstown Middle
  • Kelly Grubbs, Bardstown High
  • Chris King, D.A., Bardstown High

Mike Paul, Ed.S., as the Digital Learning Coach for Bardstown City Schools will lead the Future Shift Fellowship. The purpose of the fellowship is to create an authentic Professional Learning Network within the district to promote and facilitate collaboration and professional growth. The fellowship will have a specific focus on redesigning existing lessons to create deeper learning experiences for students, supported by educational technology. During the one-year fellowship teachers will attend six intensive professional learning sessions, receive one-on-one training and support throughout the year, professional development books and materials, and even earn Google certified educator certification.

“We’ll use a questioning protocol, the 4 Shifts, to review lessons in four areas: deeper learning, authentic work, student agency, and technology infusion,” said Mike Paul. “We want to create learning experiences supported by technology, not using technology for technology’s sake. This same protocol is being used by other Digital Learning Coaches across the state but I like to think our cohort has a little something special.”

Upon completion of the fellowship participants will become a resource for teachers in their school. Additionally, they’ll share their work at two faculty meetings or professional learning conferences. 

Teachers selected for the BCS Future Shift Fellowship
First row (L-R): Marci Ballard, Betty Mizutani, Paula Marie Gagne, and Kelly Grubbs. Second row (L-R): Melissa Kyser, Walt Eveland, Mike Paul, Jennifer Burks, and Chris King.

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to browse on this website, you accept the use of cookies.